Diana Waring’s History Revealed curriculum

I dont usually do reviews of texts. But I thought I would make an exception in this case. Who knows, maybe I will expand the goal of my blog to helping parents grow godly children by adding in homeschool ideas/helps. But for now, I simply HAVE to brag on Diana Waring’s history curriculum.

My family and I attended the MidSouth Homeschool Convention this past weekend. We went to some seminars, walked around the exhibit hall, met people, learned things, looked at curriculum, and even purchased some.

One of the most impressive curriculums there was Diana Waring’s   I attended one of her seminars and found she likes to research history from multiple perspectives – each one having a different take on the story. I never knew that the Vikings went to the middle east, over land, as traders – rather than as raiders, which is almost all we hear about from the US. I never knew that there was a battle line between Italy and Slovenia (I think) during World War I where over a million men died – I never knew because it was not on the western front, and Americans were not involved, so it was ignored in my history education.

Taking a look at her curriculum, it takes advantage of multiple learning styles, addressing multiple intelligences. IT also looks at history from art/architecture, science, music, geography, and literature. It allows for different interests. It helps students evaluate themselves. It incorporates scripture. It helps students have a context for what happened in history. It does it all in a story telling style. For most of the curriculum, the student is directed by the curriculum on what to do next, and part of it involves discussion and demonstrating what has been learned in various ways (depending on how the student is wired).

It presents a Judeo-Christian worldview in learning history.

It looks very engaging and fun. I would like to be working through this with the chidren. I’m kind of jealous that they will be learning about this and I will not. Maybe I will read the articles and discuss with them at dinner. :)

I love that it looks at history chronologically and examines what scripture says regarding those things (where appropriate). I also love that Egyptian history includes Moses and Joseph, even though most western history books ignore them all together.

Overall, it looks like a good curriculum for children of multiple ages.

2 Responses

  1. I agree that her history curriculum is the best that is available to home educators. Every home educator with junior high/high school students should look at it before deciding on how to approach the study of history.

  2. As a veteran educator of 20 years, going into the Homeschool world, I am very excited to be using this curriculum. I have conducted inservices and workshops on the multiple intelligences and I know how important it is to reach children the way God created them. While research has proven this is the best way for children to learn, very few curricula written to include all of the intelligences, or even half of them.

    Diana Waring is to be applauded for her approach to education. History Revealed is written in a way that expresses her passion for educating children at their level and interest of understanding.

    The majority of my experience in the teaching field has been in early childhood. A supplimental K-3 book is available for students, as well. After looking at the 5-12 workbook, I think our 3rd and 4th grade children (in our home) will be fine with a bit of “tweeking”. Our fourth grade daughter is SO excited about starting the curriculum, she has asked to look at the student book every day since we brought it home. For her, August can’t come soon enough!! Because it reaches children in all areas of intelligence, the younger ones will be able to learn history, mapping skills, art/music appreciation, science concepts, geography, and (as this country woman likes to refer to cooking) domestic science! The projects offered in the 5-12 workbook can easily be adapted for younger elementary.

    I have 6 weeks left in a formal Christian school classroom. We are studying Moses and have finished our reading series. I am going to use the Ancient Civilizations and the Bible (Unit 3) to research the difficulty of adapting it to a second-grade classroom. I am interested to see what those adaptions will have to be.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

