Problems with the Roman Catholic Church?

Someone suggested that because I grew up in the Roman Catholic Church, went to catechism, went to First Communion and Confirmation, and left it, that I have baggage and bitterness and other negative feelings towards the Roman Catholic Church. What follows is my response to that statement.

I have baggage from growing up. But the Catholic church is not part of it. I have nothing but pleasant memories of my time in catechism. Granted, church itself was boring, but hey, I was a kid! :)

 

No, I have no bitterness for the RCC. I have no bitterness for the people of the RCC. I have only a desire that they might all go to heaven. My problem with the RCC is the bad doctrine the church hierarchy holds to. As I have said, I’ve known some in the RCC who were saved. But the majority worshipped saints rather than God Himself (and I realize the RCC teaches a difference between veneration and worship, but most of the laity I have met do not recognize a difference in practice).

 

Why would anyone want to be part of a church that tells you to pray to dead people, instead of talking to God Himself?

Isaiah 8:19

When men tell you to consult mediums and spiritists, who whisper and mutter, should not a people inquire of their God? Why consult the dead on behalf of the living?

 

We have ONE intercessor between us and God the Father: Christ. Why go for what would be, at best, second best?

1 Timothy 2:5

For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus

 

I have seen people who left the RCC because they believed they could never know if they would be with Christ when they died, due to what the church teaches concerning unconfessed sins. This is little different than trying to live by the Law, or worse the hedge laws (those laws put in place by the priests to keep people from actually breaking the Law), for righteousness as taught by priests of the Old Testament and Christ’s time.

 

Acts 15:10-11

10 Now then, why do you try to test God by putting on the necks of the disciples a yoke that neither we nor our fathers have been able to bear? 11 No! We believe it is through the grace of our Lord Jesus that we are saved, just as they are.”

 

As Jesus said to the Pharisees and Scribes:

Mark 7:9

And he said to them: “You have a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions!

 

We have the righteousness that comes from God.

Philippians 3:8-9

What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ 9and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.

 

But later, after the people of whom I am speaking had left the RCC, they came to understand that God loves them and holds those who believe Christ came to pay the price for their sins in His hands and nothing can remove them – not even themselves.

 

John 10:27-29

27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.

 

Indeed, we were sealed by the Holy Spirit when we truly believed.

Ephesians 1:13

And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit,

 

Having been sealed, we are to live righteous lives, and look forward to the day of Redemption.

Ephesians 4:30

30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.

 

Of course, the assurance of salvation is a very different thing than whether one is saved or not. But it is a big issue for many people. There are many other doctrinal problems in the RCC. No, they might state we are saved by grace through faith in Christ, but when you look at the whole of the teaching of the RCC, they have put up so many hedge laws that it makes it difficult to trust in Christ (the RCC would rather you trust in the church, which I see being as the same as trusting in Pharisees and Scribes).

Some of my other posts that deal with the Roman Catholic Church:
The Split Between Roman Catholic And Orthodox Churches
Celibate Priests
Unity At What Cost?
Was Mary A Perpetual Virgin?
Was Mary without sin?
The Lord’s Supper: Eucharist And Wine – Body And Blood Of Christ or Analogy?
Transubstantiation
What Rock did Jesus build His church upon?
Peter and the rock 2
Who Are To Be Priests What Should Be The Sacrifice?
Roman Catholicism, Really?

One Response

  1. Great post. I was one of those that grew up Catholic but then began to question many of the same things that you mentioned here. What’s always been interesting to me is that when I compared Catholic tenants to scripture, I was told (by Catholics) that the bible can be twisted to say whatever you want it to say… Huh? So, the Catholic stuff is more trustworthy than the bible itself?

    I left the Catholic church 24 years ago, and while it did cause some friction in my family, I’ve never regretted it for a minute.

Leave a Reply

