Ever been depressed? Ever wanted to quit?

Have you ever been depressed? Have you ever wanted to quit? I have – both.

But did you know our Lord felt the same way? Just before He was to be betrayed, Christ asked that the cup be taken from Him. But instead of quitting, He asked God’s will be done.

Matthew 26:36-46

36 Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” 39 Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

 40 Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Could you men not keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter. 41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

 42 He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

 43 When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. 44 So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing.

 45 Then he returned to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour is near, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. 46 Rise, let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

Jesus stayed the course! He submitted to what God wanted. He did the hard thing. He did the right thing. What if Jesus had quit? We’d all be the worse for it.

Remember, when we’re tired, God is there for us.

Psalm 16:8-10

 8 I have set the LORD always before me.
Because he is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.

 9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,

 10 because you will not abandon me to the grave,
nor will you let your Holy One see decay.

Focus on God. He will never abandon you.

Jesus told us to come to Him and He will give us rest.

Matthew 11:28-30

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Indeed, we are to rejoice in our weakness, as Paul did.

2 Corinthians 12:7-10

To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

We can rest in God, even when times are tough. We don’t need to quit, but to turn to God. He is sufficient. Christ is our model. Persevere.

2 Responses

  1. Awesome post, and yes it is something I needed to hear today. Just wanted to let you know that. You left a comment on my bolg awhile back, and wanted to see what you were up to, I am glad I came by it was a good read.
    C. Apana

  2. I’m glad used it to encourage you. Sometimes we try to do it all in our own power, and its not enough. But God is always there for us, and HE is sufficient.

Leave a Reply

