Have you lost someone recently?

My mother in law lost her husband recently. Its torn her up. Of course, my wife isn’t too happy about it either. It was her step dad, but none the less, they loved each other dearly and he is missed.

My mother in law was flooded with well-wishers right after the death, and even immediately after the funeral. But then the kids went home, the well-wishers stopped coming, and some of the loneliness set in. But her sister had not left her side. I’m sure she was trying to relieve my mother in law of the sadness that sets in. But eventually, even she had to leave. THEN the loneliness set it, for real.

Feelings set in. Thoughts flood back. Memories come up. You worry. You’re sad. You feel hopeless. You miss that person. You wonder if you can live with that person. You wonder why should you….

Have you lost someone recently? If so, then you remember. Maybe you are living it now. Maybe you are worried about it in the future. But you know something? God is there. God is with you. God loves you. God does not give you anything you can not handle, even if it feels like you can’ handle it.

God is everywhere. Jeremiah 23:24

Can anyone hide in secret places so that I cannot see him?” declares the LORD.  “Do not I fill heaven and earth?” declares the LORD.

God is love. 1 John 4:16

And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.

God loves you. John 3:16-18

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

Do not worry. We don’t have to worry about our life. We don’t have to worry about what we will eat, or what we will wear. We simply need to seek the kingdom of God.

Matthew 6:25-34

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

 28And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

You have no need to be anxious about anything. If you have a concern or a need, simply ask God. He will provide what you need. Ask God and focus on what you need to focus upon – whatever is excellent or praiseworthy – and put it into practice. This will help you.

Philippians 4:6-9

 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

We simply have to trust in God.

John 14:1-4

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.

Psalm 42:5

5 Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior

Thankfully, my father in law knew and trusted in Christ. He knew when he died that he would go to be with Christ. For that, we can be thankful. It does not help with the emotions today. But it will tomorrow.

Do you know God? Do you trust in Christ? Rest in Him.

3 Responses

  1. Thank you Walter….I cherish these words from God through you and I cherish you. Love, Linda

  2. Mom – I am so incredibly blessed to be married to a man who loves God more than he loves me. It makes him a loving and attentive husband and father. I am touched by his ministry and grateful that many people hear the word of God through him.

    I am also dearly, richly blessed to have a mother like you: my own love for my amazing children tells me how much you love me. I know that you are sad and lonely without your husband. He was sweet, tenderhearted and funny. His blue eyes were a light in this world. I miss him terribly, but knowing I will see him again “when we all get together. What a day of rejoicing that will be!!!!” That is a small comfort for now. I think as we begin to really heal from this loss it will comfort us more and more.

    I love you very much and pray for you every day. Walter’s right: you are cherished.

    -your daughter

Leave a Reply

