Is Christ God?

Someone wrote,

“I do not believe the “catholic” and “christian” theo’ry’logical doctrines concerning “The Only True GOD, Father ALL”. For they “image”ine a three-headed “god” they call their “trinity”, or they declare their “christ” to be their “god and father”, or they believe that The Messiah was but an exalted messenger(angel) or prophet.”

My response follows.

You are mistaken when you claim Jesus is not part of the God-head. There is one God in three persons. Each separate, distinct, but together are God.

One verse which supports this concept is John 12:35-36

35Then Jesus told them, “You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. The man who walks in the dark does not know where he is going. 36Put your trust in the light while you have it, so that you may become sons of light.” When he had finished speaking, Jesus left and hid himself from them.

Jesus is the Light. The Light walked with man for a little while and then returned to heaven.
Jn 9:5

While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

The Light is God, as we see in 1 John 1:5.

This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.

Other passages that support Jesus is God include Jn 10:30-33, where He made Himself equal to God, thus claiming to be God.

30 I and the Father are one.” 31 Again the Jews picked up stones to stone him, 32but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many great miracles from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?” 33 “We are not stoning you for any of these,” replied the Jews, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

God called Himself ‘I AM’.
Exodus 3:!4

God said to Moses, “I am who I am . This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ “

Jesus claimed He was ‘I AM” in Jn 8:58

“I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!”

When people are in God’s presence, they fall down.
Ezekiel 1:28

Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. When I saw it, I fell facedown, and I heard the voice of one speaking.

This is what happened when the evil spirits saw Jesus.
Mark 3:11

Whenever the evil spirits saw him, they fell down before him and cried out, “You are the Son of God.”

This is what happened in the garden of Gethsemene (the pronoun ‘he’ is not in the original text).
John 18:6

“I am he,” Jesus said. (And Judas the traitor was standing there with them.) When Jesus said, “I am he,” they drew back and fell to the ground.

This is also what happened when Paul saw Jesus on the way to Damascus.
Acts 9:3-6

3 As he neared Damascus on his journey, suddenly a light from heaven flashed around him. 4 He fell to the ground and heard a voice say to him, “Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?” 5 “Who are you, Lord?” Saul asked. “I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting,” he replied. 6 “Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.”

Jesus said if you have know Jesus, you know God, yet again equating Jesus with God.
Jn 10:6-7

6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

So yes, Jesus the Christ, the Messiah, the Lord, was with God in the beginning because He IS God. There IS only one God, yet the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit are all God – three persons in one God.

 

Leave a Reply

