Walking in the light

 The question was posed whether anything other than belief that God  sent Jesus to suffer and die for our sins and resurrected Him on the third day was needed to be saved (to go to heaven). This was asked because this someone holds to the idea that whether one believes this can not be measured through one’s life.

First let me say that there are two uses for the term believe: to have a loosely held idea, and to have a conviction. This can be seen in http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/believe. The normal usage of the term is to use it synonymously with ‘conviction’, but the other usage is equally valid. This difference in the usage is why there are some who believe you can loose your salvation and others who believe you can not but that you must have accompanying evidence of salvation.

John 8:12

12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

John 8:31-32

 31 To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Jesus said people who believe in Jesus should not be in darkness.

John 12:46

I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.

Some say you can believe in Jesus and be saved, but not love Jesus. However, when we believe (with conviction), we become members of God’s family, as we see in Ephesians 1:5-13,

5he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— 6to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. 7In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace 8that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding. 9And he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, 10to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment—to bring all things in heaven and on earth together under one head, even Christ. 11In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, 12in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory. 13And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit

Being adopted, God is our father. And notice, Jesus said if God were your father, you would love Jesus.

John 8:42

42Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here. I have not come on my own; but he sent me

When we believe, we love Jesus and God loves us.

John 16:27

27No, the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God. 

Some say you can believe without conviction and be saved and not be a disciple (follower) of Jesus. Yet Jesus said

John 10:27

27My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

People say we can believe and not love Jesus. But Jesus said,

John 15:9-10

9“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 

John 16:27

No, the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God.

Some say we can love Jesus but not obey Him.

John 14:21 

21 Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.

Eternal life is knowing Jesus and God the Father.

John 17:3

3Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent. 

Notice, Jesus said those that belong to God hear Jesus and obey – that they know with certainty Jesus came from God and believe He sent Jesus.

John 17:6-8

 6“I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word. 7Now they know that everything you have given me comes from you. 8For I gave them the words you gave me and they accepted them. They knew with certainty that I came from you, and they believed that you sent me. 

In fact, John wrote that no one born of God (that is, born again) will continue to sin. 

1 John 3:9

9No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God.

It seems to m that we must believe, with conviction, that God sent Jesus to suffer and die for our sins. This belief will cause us to be disciples and follow Jesus. It will also cause us to obey Jesus Christ. It will also cause us to love God the Father and love Jesus Christ, the Son of God. This belief will cause us to continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

