Sovereignty of God

John Piper wrote, “The Bible is overwhelmingly clear that God governs everything in the universe from the smallest bird to the largest storm.”

And then gave us some examples from Scripture:

Matthew 10:29

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father”

Matthew 8:27

“Even winds and sea obey him”

Proverbs 16:33

“The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord”

Proverbs 21:1

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wherever he will”

Lamentations 3:37

“Who has spoken and it came to pass, unless the Lord has commanded it?”

Amos 3:6

“Does disaster come to a city, unless the Lord has done it?”

Mark 1:27

“He commands even the unclean spirits, and they obey him”

Isaiah 46:9-10

“I am God, and there is none like me . . . saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose'”

This has helped me remember that it is God who is in control. My life has recently been filled with a bit of pain and confusion – I had three minor surgeries in the space of three weeks, and they (combined with the medication) had gotten me down. I had no desire or ability to blog.I felt like I was a failure for having difficulty getting back in the swing of things at work. Even being a husband and a dad felt too difficult, it seemed. I felt like giving up on everything and everyone.

But God is faithful. He meets us where we are. God gave me a wondeful family who love me, He gave me much needed rest and He gave me this devotional to remind me HE is in control and I don’t have to pretend to be. I just have to trust God.

Leave a Reply

