For What Should We Pray?

We have looked at Who should pray. We have looked at To whom should we pray. We have looked at To Whom Should We NOT Pray. This time we will look at what we should pray for, as part of a series on Prayer.

1.     For what we need daily

Matthew 6:11

11Give us today our daily bread.

2.     For people who persecute you

Matthew 5:44

44But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you

3.     For people who mistreat you

Lk 6:28

28bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you

4.     For doors to open to the Gospel/evangelism

Colossians 4:3

3And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains.

2 Thessalonians 3:1

1Finally, brothers, pray for us that the message of the Lord may spread rapidly and be honored, just as it was with you

5.     Success in good purposes and acts prompted by faith

2 Thessalonians 1:11

11With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may count you worthy of his calling, and that by his power he may fulfill every good purpose of yours and every act prompted by your faith

6.     For people to receive the Holy Spirit

Acts 8:15

15When they arrived, they prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit

7.     For others to stand firm in the will of God

Colossians 4:12

12Epaphras, who is one of you and a servant of Christ Jesus, sends greetings. He is always wrestling in prayer for you, that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured

8.     For guidance of God’s will

Gen 24:42-51

42 “When I came to the spring today, I said, ‘O LORD, God of my master Abraham, if you will, please grant success to the journey on which I have come. 43 See, I am standing beside this spring; if a maiden comes out to draw water and I say to her, “Please let me drink a little water from your jar,” 44 and if she says to me, “Drink, and I’ll draw water for your camels too,” let her be the one the LORD has chosen for my master’s son.’

45 “Before I finished praying in my heart, Rebekah came out, with her jar on her shoulder. She went down to the spring and drew water, and I said to her, ‘Please give me a drink.’

46 “She quickly lowered her jar from her shoulder and said, ‘Drink, and I’ll water your camels too.’ So I drank, and she watered the camels also.

47 “I asked her, ‘Whose daughter are you?’
“She said, ‘The daughter of Bethuel son of Nahor, whom Milcah bore to him.’
“Then I put the ring in her nose and the bracelets on her arms, 48 and I bowed down and worshiped the LORD. I praised the LORD, the God of my master Abraham, who had led me on the right road to get the granddaughter of my master’s brother for his son. 49 Now if you will show kindness and faithfulness to my master, tell me; and if not, tell me, so I may know which way to turn.”

50 Laban and Bethuel answered, “This is from the LORD; we can say nothing to you one way or the other. 51 Here is Rebekah; take her and go, and let her become the wife of your master’s son, as the LORD has directed.”

Colossians 1:9

9For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding.

James 1:5

5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

9.    For confirmation of God’s will.

Judges 6:36-40

36 Gideon said to God, “If you will save Israel by my hand as you have promised- 37 look, I will place a wool fleece on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece and all the ground is dry, then I will know that you will save Israel by my hand, as you said.” 38 And that is what happened. Gideon rose early the next day; he squeezed the fleece and wrung out the dew—a bowlful of water.

39 Then Gideon said to God, “Do not be angry with me. Let me make just one more request. Allow me one more test with the fleece. This time make the fleece dry and the ground covered with dew.” 40 That night God did so. Only the fleece was dry; all the ground was covered with dew.

10.   For workers to do God’s work

Luke 10:2

2He told them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.

11. For workers doing God’s work.

Acts 6:6

6They presented these men to the apostles, who prayed and laid their hands on them.

12.   For all the saints

Ephesians 6:18

18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

13.   For help when in trouble

James 5:13

13Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise.

14.   To heal someone

James 5:15

15And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven.

15.   To avoid temptation

Mark 14:38

38Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

Luke 22:40-46

40On reaching the place, he said to them, “Pray that you will not fall into temptation.” 41He withdrew about a stone’s throw beyond them, knelt down and prayed, 42“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.

45When he rose from prayer and went back to the disciples, he found them asleep, exhausted from sorrow. 46“Why are you sleeping?” he asked them. “Get up and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.”

16.   When a believer has sinned

James 5:16

16Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

17.   Give thanks in everything

Philippians 4:6

6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

18.   For what the Spirit leads us to pray

Romans 8:26-27

26In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. 27And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.

6 Responses

  1. […] We have looked at Who should pray, To whom should we pray, To Whom Should We NOT Pray , For What Should We Pray, and Where should we pray. Now we will look at WHY we should […]

  2. […] by wbmoore We looked at Who should pray, To whom should we pray, To Whom Should We NOT Pray , For What Should We Pray, Where should we pray, Why should we pray, How should we NOT pray , as part of a series […]

  3. […] We have looked at Who should pray, To whom should we pray, To Whom Should We NOT Pray , and For What Should We Pray. Now we will look at WHERE should we pray, as part of a series […]

  4. […] We have looked at Who should pray, To whom should we pray, To Whom Should We NOT Pray , For What Should We Pray, Where should we pray, and Why should we pray. Now we will look at HOW we should pray, as part of […]

  5. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?Thanks

    • actually, those are four different comments generated by the system to indicate this post is referenced in other posts.

      and I can’t figure out how to stop your email subscription. Perhaps if you created an account with wordpress.com you might have the ability to stop it. I know I can stop my own email subscriptions that way.

Leave a Reply

