Hello again, Margaret….

Well, many people have been asking when I would return to blogging. So here it is, my debut after a hiatus from blogging. For those who do not know, my wife left me 2/11/2010. I do not wish to go into details here. Suffice it to say that we are seeking legal divorce.

I have had to focus a great deal on my family and on trying to determine what has happened and whether God wanted me to teach any more. My kids are my primary focus, but I have been asked to teach and preach. As such, I need to address whether I am able to teach biblically.

I am first and foremost a child of God, a co-heir with Christ, a man of God, a father, a husband. My wife has decided I am not to be her husband any longer. But God has not told me to not preach or teach. God has not told me to stop blogging. I have searched scripture and do not see any where in the Bible where it teaches that one can not be a teacher if one is not married. Nor does it say one can not be a teacher if one is divorced.

We see in 1 Timothy 3:1-7 that an overseer must be ABLE to teach and the husband of one wife and able to manage his family well and whose children obey him with respect, but we do not see that a teacher is necessarily an overseer.

1Here is a trustworthy saying: If anyone sets his heart on being an overseer, he desires a noble task. 2Now the overseer must be above reproach, the husband of but one wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, 3not given to drunkenness, not violent but gentle, not quarrelsome, not a lover of money. 4He must manage his own family well and see that his children obey him with proper respect. 5(If anyone does not know how to manage his own family, how can he take care of God’s church?) 6He must not be a recent convert, or he may become conceited and fall under the same judgment as the devil. 7He must also have a good reputation with outsiders, so that he will not fall into disgrace and into the devil’s trap.

We see in 1 Timothy 3:12 that a deacon must be the husband of one wife, but again, we do not see that this is saying a teacher must not be divorced.

12 A deacon must be the husband of but one wife and must manage his children and his household well.

We see some are appointed as apostles, prophets, and teachers – but we do not see whether a teacher must be married or even not divorced.

1 Corinthians 12:28-30

28And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues. 29Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles?30Do all have gifts of healing? Do all speak in tongues? Do all interpret?

I am uncertain if pastors and teachers are separate offices or not. It is not clear that a teacher is to not be divorced.

Ephesians 4:11-13

11It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, 12to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up 13until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.

In none of these scripture passages do we see anything indicating a teacher is to not be divorced.

If anyone has any scripture that might teach that someone getting divorced or already divorced should not be a teacher, please let me know. Until then, or until I feel God telling me to not teach, I will teach.

4 Responses

  1. Finally. Thank God and Praise God for this good news.

  2. Nice to see you back W! I hope and pray the best for you!

    • Thanks Fr. R. I am not sure how consistent I will be, as I am more focused on my kids right now. But I still feel the need to study and write, so I might as well write here. :)

  3. wb,

    Indeed life moves on, thanks for God’s ever present grace & mercy! For we all need it, everyone who names the name of Christ!

    Best,

Leave a Reply

