Mormon confusion about whether God has a body

The Bible states that God is a spirit and not a man.

Hosea 11:9

9I will not execute My fierce anger; I will not destroy Ephraim again For I am God and not man, the Holy One in your midst, And I will not come in wrath.

Numbers 23:19

God is not a man, that He should lie, Nor a son of man, that He should repent; Has He said, and will He not do it?Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good?

God is not like man, Psalm 50:21

“You thought that I was just like you; I will reprove you, and state the case in order before your eyes”

God was God before creation, Psalm 90:2

Before the mountains were born Or You gave birth to the earth and the world, Even from everlasting to everlasting, You are God

God does not change: Malachi 3:6

For I, the LORD, do not change; therefore you, O sons of Jacob, are not consumed.

God is everywhere, omnipresent, Jeremiah 23:24

24″Can a man hide himself in hiding places, So I do not see him?” declares the LORD. “Do I not fill the heavens and the earth?” declares the LORD.

2 Chronicles 6:18

18 But will God indeed dwell with mankind on the earth? Behold, heaven and the highest heaven cannot contain You; how much less this house which I have built.

Jesus taught that God is a spirit, John 4:24

God is spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.

Jesus had a body, but a spirit does not, as we see in Luke 24:36-39

36 While they were telling these things, He Himself stood in their midst and said to them, “Peace be to you.” 37 But they were startled and frightened and thought that they were seeing a spirit. 38And He said to them, “Why are you troubled, and why do doubts arise in your hearts? 39 “See My hands and My feet, that it is I Myself; touch Me and see, for a spirit does not have flesh and bones as you see that I have.”

The book of Mormon teaches that God is a spirit, and does not change

Alma 31:15

“Holy, holy God; we believe that thou art God…that thou art a spirit, and that thou wilt be a spirit forever.”

Moroni 8:18

For I know that God is not a partial God, neither a changeable being; but he is aunchangeable from all eternity to all eternity.

Yet, the Mormon Doctrine and Covenants, 130:22, states

“The Father has a body of flesh and bones as tangible as man’s….” —

So while the book of Mormon, which was supposed to “correct” the Bible teaches that God is spirit, mormons still teach otherwise. They ignore their own writings to teach what is contrary to the Bible.

The gospel is not that man can become God, but that God became a man to pay the price of our sins so that those who believe in Him will not perish but have eternal life.

Leave a Reply

