Did Christ come to bring dissension?

Mormon missionaries came to my house the other week. They asked that I pray and read 3 Nephi 11 and see if my bosom had a burning feeling in it. I prayed and when I read 3 Nephi 11:29-30, immediately Luke 12:51-53 came to mind.

3 Nephi 11:29-30

29For verily, verily I say unto you, he that hath the spirit of contention is not of me, but is of the devil, who is the father of contention, and he stirreth up the hearts of men to contend with anger, one with another.

30Behold, this is not my doctrine, to stir up the hearts of men with anger, one against another; but this is my doctrine, that such things ashould be done away.

Luke 12:51-53

51 “Do you suppose that I came to grant peace on earth? I tell you, no, but rather division;

52 for from now on five members in one household will be divided, three against two and two against three.

53 “They will be divided, father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against daughter-in-law and daughter-in-law against mother-in-law.”

While the Mormons want to believe that Christ would remove dissension between men, Christ said He came to cause division among people. People will turn against others because of what Christ has done.

I find it interesting how close the book of Mormon comes to what the true God has given us, and then how far off the Mormon Doctrines and Covenants are from the truth.

2 Responses

  1. That is how deception works, mix enough of a lie with the truth as to make it indistinguishable; if you were to put a chocolate candy
    bar and chocolate laxative side by side without tasting, could you tell the difference? And obviously the effects would be different

Leave a Reply

