Mormon confusion on monotheism vs polytheism

The Bible teaches there is one God.

Deuteronomy 6:4

Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one.

Isaiah 43:10

10“You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD,
“And My servant whom I have chosen,
So that you may know and believe Me
And understand that I am He
  Before Me there was no God formed,
         And there will be none after Me. 

Isaiah 44:6-8

6 “This is what the LORD says– Israel’s King and Redeemer, the LORD Almighty: I am the first and I am the last; apart from me there is no God. 7 Who then is like me? Let him proclaim it. Let him declare and lay out before me what has happened since I established my ancient people, and what is yet to come– yes, let him foretell what will come. 8 Do not tremble, do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago? You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.”

Mark 12:28-32

One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?” 29 “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: `Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. 30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ 31 The second is this: `Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” 32 “Well said, teacher,” the man replied. “You are right in saying that God is one and there is no other but him.”

The book of Mormon teaches there is one god.

Alma 11:28-29

Now Zeezrom said: “Is there more than one God?” And he answered, “No.”

Yet,  the Doctrines and Covenants teach there are many gods.

Section 121:32

32 According to that which was ordained in the midst of the Council of the Eternal God of all other gods before this world was, that should be reserved unto the finishing and the end thereof, when every man shall enter into his eternal presence and into his immortal rest.

So yet again, the Mormon Doctrines and Covenants contradicts both the Bible and the Book of Mormon.

Does the One True God  (the one who said there is no god other than him) know about all those other gods out there?

Leave a Reply

