Does God speak to people today?

I was told by a now former pastor that anyone who hears God speak today must be insane and needs to see a psychiatrist.

It made me sad. I felt sorry for him. I can not imagine being a Christian and NOT hearing from God.

God has spoken to me (I heard it aloud, but it was in my head). God has given me verses to preach upon. God has given me knowledge about someone so I could pray, and so I could speak with that person. God has spoken through me to others. God has spoken to me through others.

This does not mean God has had me write anything down for others to be led and taught by what God has given me.

I see lots of people who are saying that God would provide no new revelation. I dont see that in scripture.

I see we are not to add to what God has said – in DEUTERONOMY and we have certainly increased the number of books since then.

Deuteronomy 4:2

You shall not add to the word which I am commanding you, nor take away from it, that you may keep the commandments of the Lord your God which I command you.

Deuteronomy 12:32

32 “Whatever I command you, you shall be careful to do; you shall not add to nor take away from it.


We are certainly NOT to add to the words of GOD (Proverbs 30:5-6), but if GOD adds to the words of GOD, we have
no prohibition against that.

Proverbs 30:5-6

Every word of God is tested;
He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.
Do not add to His words
Or He will reprove you, and you will be proved a liar.


I see that we are not to add to the book of revelation (Revelation 22:18-19).

Revelation 22:18-19

18 I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues which are written in this book; 19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his part from the tree of life and from the holy city, which are written in this book.

 


We MUST test everything, as false prophets will do miracles to lead people astray .

1 John 4:1
Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.

Deuteronomy 13:1-5;

 1 “If a prophet or a dreamer of dreams arises among you and gives you a sign or a wonder, and the sign or the wonder comes true, concerning which he spoke to you, saying, ‘Let us go after other gods (whom you have not known) and let us serve them,’ you shall not listen to the words of that prophet or that dreamer of dreams; for the Lord your God is testing you to find out if you love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul. You shall follow the Lord your God and fear Him; and you shall keep His commandments, listen to His voice, serve Him, and cling to Him. But that prophet or that dreamer of dreams shall be put to death, because he has counseled rebellion against the Lord your God who brought you from the land of Egypt and redeemed you from the house of slavery, to seduce you from the way in which the Lord your God commanded you to walk. So you shall purge the evil from among you.

 Matthew 24:24

24 For false Christs and false prophets will arise and will show great signs and wonders, so as to mislead, if possible, even the elect.


Scripture itself is breathed out by God

2 Timothy 3:16-17

16 All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17 so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.


I personally see no biblical evidence of the cessation of sign gifts until ‘the perfect comes’, based on 1 Corinthians 13:8-13. In fact, Paul specifically told the assembly to not forbid the speaking in tongues (1 Corinthians 14:39). In 1 Corinthians 14, Paul is telling us that prophecy was still occuring when he wrote it, and provides regulation for prophecy in church services. In 1 Thessalonians 5:20, Paul warns to not hold prophecies in contempt. So we know Paul was not writing about the birth, life, suffering, and resurrection of Christ – otherwise prophecy would have not continued to the time of 1 Corinthians or 1 Thessalonians. In fact, if prophecies had ceased, why would Paul provide regulation for the use of that particular gift (1 Corinthians 14)?

God said to inquire of HIM, not mediums and spiritists –
Isaiah 8:19

When they say to you, “Consult the mediums and the spiritists who whisper and mutter,” should not a people consult their God? Should they consult the dead on behalf of the living?


Jesus spoke to Paul after Jesus’ death –
Acts 9:5

And he said, “Who are You, Lord?” And He said, “I am Jesus whom you are persecuting


Prophecy is a sign from God to those who believe –
1 Corinthians 14:22

So then tongues are for a sign, not to those who believe but to unbelievers; but prophecy is for a sign, not to unbelievers but to those who believe.


God certainly spoke to Paul –
2 Corinthians 12:7-10


7To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.


Prophecy occurs when the Holy Spirit speaks from God.


2 Peter 1:19-21


19 So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts. 20 But know this first of all, that no prophecy of Scripture is a matter of one’s own interpretation, 21 for no prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God.

We hear of Muslims coming to faith in Christ because they have had visions and dreams of Christ (http://www.wnd.com/2013/02/visions-of-jesus-appearing-to-muslims/). Others have had similar visions and converted (http://www.is-there-a-god.info/life/visions.shtml). Why would God come to THEM in a vision and not speak to people who believed in Him? I really see no reason.

I see in scripture where God has spoken to men. I do not see where God has said He has stopped speaking to men.  But does this mean God ALWAYS speaks to His people in such a dramatic way? No. Of course not! Not everyone will see Jesus. Not everyone will hear God. Some will be moved by a still small voice. Some will be moved by God’s interaction with them through natural means. But this does not mean God does not speak today.

Leave a Reply

