What if I grew up a Christian but walked away and then later came back – am I saved?

The situation:

If I grew up as a Christian but as I grew older I started doing drugs, wanted nothing to do with God, didn’t think he was real etc… But then later in life I truly found him & committed my life fully to him. Am I going to heaven? I always thought yes but now I’m thinking wait, wouldn’t that be called blasphemy of the Holy Spirit, the one unforgivable sin?

 

My response:

Does it matter if you were saved as a child or as an adult? I don’t think so. What matters now is the condition of your heart before GOD right now.

If you were saved as a child, then either you lost your salvation when you turned away from God and regained it when you turned back to God as an adult, OR you lost fellowship with God but regained THAT fellowship when you turned back to God as an adult.

Another option is that if you were NOT saved as a child, but had an emotional experience that lasted only a short while and then died down (read the parable of the sower in Luke 8:4-15; Mt 13:3-23; Mk 4:2-20), to the point where you didn’t think God was real, and then you came to be saved as an adult.

I know that theologians have argued for centuries which scenario most accurately reflects what happens with us and what is in scripture.

I don’t think any of those scenarios are all that important when considering your question. What I think is important is that you are currently walking with God.

Personally, I know Christians sin and much of the NT was written to correct that (see 1 Corinthians 5 for example).

Also, people walk away from Christ and were never saved – 1 Jn 2:19.

And finally, the Parable of the Sower (Luke 8:4-15; Mt 13:3-23; Mk 4:2-20) shows us that many can appear saved but turn out not to be, while others show the fruit of being saved.

The real question is, “Does your life show fruit of salvation?”. Have you repented, turned to God through faith in Christ (Acts 26:20) and does your life reflect that love and obedience for God?  That will be your answer.

If you have repented, and now trust Christ as your Lord and Savior, where your life reflects love for God and others, then you are saved. If not, then you and God should do more talking.

Leave a Reply

