A vote marks an approval

I am repeatedly asked for whom will I vote this presidential election.

I am a conservative person, in almost every way.

I am a registered republican, but I am not republican – I am a Christian. I do not believe i should vote for the lesser of two evils. I believe I should vote for the best, most godly, person. Hilary and Trump are both liars and dangerous and say what ever is convenient. Trump keeps changing his stated positions. Hillary Clinton has done much the same.

I will likely vote for the constitution party candidate. Am I worried that Hillary will be elected? No more than I am worried that Trump will be elected. I think both of them are equally bad for this country, in different ways. But not one will be in authority that GOD does not put there.

Romans 13:1
Every person is to be in subjection to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those which exist are established by God.

For me to vote for either Hillary or Trump is for me to approve of her or him – I do not approve of either one. I must vote my conscience – and my conscience says they are evil and I can not give my approval to evil.

We in this country have collectively turned away from God to sinful desires and/or to approving of those who sin or those sins. As such, I think God has made sure that we will get what we want and what we approve of – evil. I think God is turning this country over to their own desires.

Romans 1:28-32
28 And just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God any longer, God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do those things which are not proper, 29 being filled with all unrighteousness, wickedness, greed, evil; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, malice; they are gossips, 30 slanderers, haters of God, insolent, arrogant, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents, 31 without understanding, untrustworthy, unloving, unmerciful; 32 and although they know the ordinance of God, that those who practice such things are worthy of death, they not only do the same, but also give hearty approval to those who practice them.

I think there is a difference between not being good and being evil.
Mark 10:18
And Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone.

But God warns those who call what God calls evil good, and vice-versa.

Isaiah 5:20 Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil; Who substitute darkness for light and light for darkness; Who substitute bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter!

Trump and Clinton are both known liars. Both are pro-abortion. Trump owns at least one strip club. People involved with Clinton end up dead.

I dont think any of us are perfect – we all sin. But I think this describes the people we are to put into office:
1 Peter 3:8-12
8 To sum up, all of you be harmonious, sympathetic, brotherly, kindhearted, and humble in spirit; 9 not returning evil for evil or insult for insult, but giving a blessing instead; for you were called for the very purpose that you might inherit a blessing. 10 For, “The one who desires life, to love and see good days, Must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from speaking deceit. 11 “He must turn away from evil and do good; He must seek peace and pursue it. 12 “For the eyes of the Lord are toward the righteous, And His ears attend to their prayer, But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

So before we give our approval to someone, we ought to realize we are GOD’s children and must reflect the choice GOD would have us make. When did Christ compromise so the lesser of two evils would be the outcome? I don’t find a single example of that in scripture.

 

Leave a Reply

